Can you make money on Vinted?

Fabiana Leone
2 min readMay 19, 2021
from vinted.it

The reselling platform Vinted was born in 2008 but received an outstanding marketing push in the last few months. If you browse youtube or simply watch TV (still?) probably you will bump into a Vinted ad. Honestly, it worked. I downloaded Vinted after hearing the experience of a few friends, who were able to sell stuff quickly and make some money.

My Experience

With the excitement of making room in my closet selling those designer items I wasn’t ready to donate, I took photos of around twenty within clothes, jewellery and accessories. I was shook at the results. The “I love you” Tiffany & Co. necklace my first boyfriend gave me 10 years ago sold within 5 minutes. That same day I was able to sell a pair of earrings as well. Can you imagine my reaction? Did I just found the way to upgrade my daily salary of about 50%? Ah. Little did I know. I didn’t sell anything else and it has been around 3 weeks.

Probably feeling my frustration, Vinted tried to up my game by gifting me a “boost”. This enables your item of choice to be featured in the home page increasing its reach for a week. Immediately, I bet it all on my old Celine sunglasses but I got only a few inquiries.

An earning opportunity?

What’s interesting about Vinted is that, contrary to Ebay or Vestiaire, people are…

--

--